top of page

Releasing Control - Your Worst Nightmare (Surprise: It's not that bad!)


A huge part in THE SHIFT to teaching a 21st century classroom is realizing that the old way of teaching is a dinosaur. It should be extinct. Well, at least parts of it should be. Sure, there are some valuable parts. Sure, some still work. However, the old formula of the wise, sage teacher spewing forth all his/her knowledge to eager listeners is gone.

Attention spans are dwindling. Rapid availability of information is at our fingertips. Our phones now do everything. We actually need to harness and teach proper use of this new power. Students need to learn how to safely navigate the world wide web and all things that go with it. The teacher needs to ***gasp*** give up some control and become facilitators.

This new role scares the daylights out of teachers. 'It's not the way we learned!' It's not. We also didn't have the technology that is used in almost every career now. Relinquishing control is usually the first hurdle in shifting your mindset.

Now, I don't suggest going full throttle. Start small. Look for areas in your day that you could put control back in the hands of the students. Here's the bonus....eventually you won't be exhausted trying to manage and control every facet of every minute of every day. It's time to let your students take control of their own learning and own it!

Here are some suggestions to get you started: flexible seating (choose your own seat--we'll talk more about this in upcoming articles), let students decide how they can demonstrate their learning (use a single, generic rubric that can cover any form of project...remember, you're looking for evidence of learning and effort), flip a class (record or find content that students watch and explore prior to activities...this frees you up to facilitate working students), or create a punch card (here is a list of items you must complete this week...I don't care what order you do them in, but you must do them). I'll be expanding further on each of these areas over the next few weeks, but imagine the possibilities!

My journey: Last year I decided I didn't need a desk. Yes, this sounds absolutely absurd to most teachers (many in my school thought I lost my mind!) However, in my defense against my insanity plea...I had 28 students in a small room. They are fifth graders...not tiny. So one day I stayed late and hauled my 1958-style monstrosity out into the hall. It really just held my snacks anyway. At least that's what I convinced myself. I organized a back shelf to host all my desk items (paper clips, post its, special pens, snacks, etc.). I used a shelf along the wall to hold my laptop.

Day 1: I loved it! I felt hip and wonderful and ready to conquer! I wanted to dance and sing and twirl!

Day 2: I questioned my entire life in near tears when I realized children could now access me from all corners. There was nowhere to hide. I also realized that my back was to kids when I was on my laptop. No good. What in the world had I done?????

Day 3: I ordered a standing desk. Life made sense again.

Day 4 and beyond: Slowly, I enjoyed mingling with my students all day. I even enjoyed them being able to access me from all angles! I enjoyed not sitting....I never really sat much before. I was back to singing and dancing!

As I progressed through the year, rumors of my desk-less existence spread through the school. Teachers stopped to see. Many said I'd regret it. I'm in year two, and I have no intention of ever going back to a desk again. Maybe regret will emerge in year 5, but it's looking doubtful.

Beginning this year, I shipped out all my student desks. In their place I put yoga balls, bean bag chairs, tables, middle school style desks, pillows, and a couch. Students choose where they sit each day. The ins and outs of that particular journey is another post for another day. But this was my segue into my major SHIFT into a new way of teaching. Slow and steady wins the race.

Wherever you are in your journey, I'd love to hear about it! It's exciting for teachers, maybe even more than students. Keep the faith and persevere. I truly believe this generation of teachers will bring our archaic system into the 21st century! Stay strong!

bottom of page